You are here

Borghi storici del Piemonte

Perfect for a weekend dedicated to tasty food, quietness and historical richness, among the vineyards of Langhe and Monferrato, on the shore of lakes or at the foot of mountains, the historic villages of Piemonte are distributed in the different provinces of the Region. Over the years, due their historical, artistic and naturalistic value, several municipalities have received a number of awards from organisations and associations.


  • The certification of "Sustainable Village of Piemonte: locations for a more responsible tourism" is aimed at small municipalities that make tourism and environmental sustainability a distinctive element of their policies. Environment Park is the technical partner of the Piemonte Region in the project that accompanies the applying municipalities in the assessment and attainment of the certification based on criteria of environmental quality, territorial attractiveness and policies regarding tourism sustainability, energy sustainability and environmental quality of accommodation. To date, 24 municipalities have obtained the quality certification: Acceglio (Cn), Alagna Valsesia (Vc), Ameno (No), Avigliana (To), Bergolo (Cn), Cannero Riviera (Vco), Castellar (Cn), Colleretto Giacosa (To), Cortazzone d’Asti (At), Cortemilia (Cn), Frassinetto (To), Garessio (Cn), Levice (Cn), Magnano (Bi), Massello (To), Mombaldone (At), Neive (Cn), Neviglie (Cn), Ostana (Cn), Ricetto di Candelo (Bi), San Damiano Macra (Cn), Usseaux (To), Vogogna (Vb), Volpedo (Al).


  • The villages of the Club "I Borghi più belli d'Italia” (The most beautiful villages in Italy) are small municipalities or hamlets, with a limited number of inhabitants, which can boast a series of specific characteristics that include a rich architectural and/or natural heritage certified by the Superintendency of Fine Arts. The villages that have obtained the certification, to date, are 271, of which 11 in Piemonte: Chianale (Cn) "The last village of the valley"Garbagna (AI)"Art among the Cherry Hills" Garessio (Cn) "A promenade on the walls" Mombaldone (At) "Old Piemonte" Neive (Cn) "The Scent of Wine" Orta San Giulio (Vco) "The watercolour of God" Ostana (Cn) "Occitan villages under the Monviso" Ricetto di Candelo (Bi) "The medieval Pompeii of the Biella area" Usseaux (To) "Five villages in the mountains" Vogogna (Vco) "Stone flower" Volpedo (AI) "On Pellizza's brushes".


  • Borghi Autentici d’Italia (Authentic Villages of Italy) is an association that brings together small and medium-sized municipalities, local authorities and joint local development bodies, with the objective of a sustainable and fair local development model, respectful of places and people and attentive to the enhancement of local identities. The goal: rediscovering Italian villages as places to enjoy, support and preserve. At the moment, the only village of Piemonte recognised by the Association is Saluzzo (Cn).


  • Among the many activities in favour of Italian cultural and historical heritage, the Italian Touring Club since 1998 selects and certifies with the Bandiera Arancione (Orange flag) excellent small villages of the hinterland. The Orange Flag, a tourist and environmental quality brand, has been conceived from the point of view of the traveller and his or her visiting experience. It is awarded to places that not only enjoy a valuable historical, cultural and environmental heritage, but can also offer excellent hospitality to tourists, and is a tool for enhancing the territory. The villages in Piemonte that have obtained this recognition are currently 31: Agliè (To), Alagna Valsesia (Vc), Avigliana (To), Barolo (Cn), Bene Vagienna (Cn), Bergolo (Cn), Candelo (Bi), Cannero Riviera (Vco), Cannobio (Vco), Cherasco (Cn), Chiusa di Pesio (Cn), Cocconato (At), Fenestrelle (To), Fobello (Vc), Gavi (Al), Grinzane Cavour (Cn), La Morra (Cn), Macugnaga (Vco), Malesco (Vco), Mergozzo (Vco), Monforte D’Alba (Cn), Neive (Cn), Orta San Giulio (No), Ozzano Monferrato (Al), Santa Maria Maggiore (Vco), Usseaux (To), Varallo (Vc), Vogogna (Vco), Entracque (Cn), Arona (No), Guarane (Cn).