You are here

CASTELLO CAVOUR DI SANTENA

The eighteenth-century complex, one of the most important historical sites in Italy, includes the castle, the tomb (national monument since 1911), the scenic ‘English’ park and the neo-gothic tower. The old castle of the Benso was demolished in 1708 by Carlo Ottavio Benso, who built the new building between 1712 and 1722.

The project is by Francesco Gallo, architect of Vittorio Amedeo II. Other buildings were demolished to build the parish church. In Santena rest the remains of Camillo Benso of Cavour, next to those of his family, in the place of his most intimate affections.

Visiting the castle, the tomb of the Benso, the park, the Visconti tower, and the monumental Church, exhibits the significant episodes of European and Italian history, meeting the main characters of the Risorgimento and the family who lived next to the architect of the Unification of Italy.

The current park has an extension of 23 hectares: its original nucleus dates back to the early '700, when the current villa was built. Around 1830 Michele Benso entrusted the Prussian Xavier Kurten - director of the Racconigi park - with the definitive arrangement of the park, according to the fashion of the picturesque garden.

Address 
Piazza Visconti Venosta, 2
10026 Santena TO
Italy
Telephone 
011 597373

Opening times

Ticket prices

Free entry 
Reduced price 

6-18 years old; over 65 years old

Visit information

Visite gruppi
Visite gruppi prenotazione
Visite orari fissi
Schedule for fixed time visits 
+39 392/98.54.201 email: info@fondazionecavour.it
Telephone for group visits 
+ 39 011 597373, + 39 392 9854201
Telephone for fixed time visits 

Accessibility

Notices for disabled 

Free entry for disabled visitors and their carers

Altri servizi:

Bookshop